Shellacked (and some other stuff)

Sussex vs Worcestershire at Hove, Yorkshire Bank 40
Worcestershire 245-9; Sussex 154 all out
Worcestershire won by 91 runs

And what do you have to say about that?

6,500 fans, your home patch, Sunday afternoon, first match after a successful 40 over campaign last season, and you get absolutely bloody hammered.

There were no bright spots, only worries about what could be a very long summer for Sussex. This is a team that should be battling on all three fronts; yet at this moment they look mid-table at best in both the Championship and the YB 40.

To lose four wickets in 11 overs when chasing a catchable total is simply unforgivable. As is letting Daryl Mitchell, of all people, he of a 31 List A average, score at over a run a ball for almost three hours.

On your home patch. On a Sunday afternoon. In front of a full house.

*

Next up for Sussex: another YB 40 match at Northamptonshire on May the 10th.

*

These match reports have filled in a nice dry spell here on Limited Overs. I also have a HUGE social media post that I am working on inbetween posts and it is nearly killing me. I don’t know if it will ever see the light of day.

I have not, despite my vow, been watching the Indian Premier League. It’s been a busy month and I just have not found the time. And this brings me to a bit of a whinge: I hate how Willow TV posts the scores on its YouTube page.

I have a hard time watching the games because they are on during the work day here in the States, but I would watch them “on demand” if Willow would not post the scores where they were so visible.

Now, I understand that we live in a world full of “spoilers” and complaining about being spoiled I think is silly and juvenile. But at the same time, as a service to its subscribers, Willow TV should not post the scores on its YouTube page. Just as ESPN3 doesn’t and just as FoxSoccer2Go doesn’t.

*

Back to my earlier point: I have not been watching the IPL, and while I have been paying attention to County Cricket and the Zimbabwe-Bangladesh series, I feel like cricket is in a bit of a lull, a bit of an off season. I think when the English summer really starts to kick off, I will have be writing more interesting posts than the occasional match report.

*

Finally, I wanted to pass along this great article about cricket in the Bronx, NY. Worth your time. Cheers to Brett Graham for sending it my way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

